After riding the Fury 325 at Carowinds Amusement Park (shameless plug), I didn’t think there could be a longer, more anticipatory wait for ANYTHING than that first drop (artist’s rendering pictured above).

I was wrong.

As I write this, I have one more day (at least I hope it’s only one) until I find out my answer on a rather big prayer request I have.  And. It. Feels. Like. It. Is. Taking. FOREVER.

I know He’s going to work everything out for my good.  He said it in His Word.  I know that whatever happens, He’s still going to love me, He’s still going to show me His mercy and grace.  I know that I’m still going to praise Him.  I know that I’m still going to worship Him.  I know that He’s still my father.  I know that I’m still going to love Him.  I know that I’m not going to stop praying.  I know that whatever happens, God’s got me.  I KNOW that. But still, deep down, my flesh is just about worried sick.  

That makes me so angry at myself!  If I know all these things in my mind and in my heart and in my spirit, then where is the worry coming from?  My flesh.  No matter if we have been saved 5 minutes or 50 years, we will never be whole, complete, and completely free of the flesh until we receive our glorified bodies in God’s kingdom.

Sometimes, followers of Christ make the mistake of pretending that nothing is ever wrong.  This makes people who are not followers of Christ – whether they’re thinking about becoming one or not – think that they’re not good enough.  It makes baby Christians (new to the faith) think that they’re not doing something right, or that maybe God didn’t really save them.  It may even make it look like God can’t do His job correctly.  All of this is so very wrong.

HE does everything correctly.  We, on the other hand, fail regularly.  He is omnipotent.  We are extremely weak.  He is supreme.  We are sorry, watery meat bags.  But THAT is why we need Him so very, very much.

This is my first time on this particular ride, so I don’t know just how it’s going to end.  But I know that God is still running the cars, He’s got me on His guiding track, and I know that He’ll bring me home safe, one way or the other.  But I would appreciate your prayers at this time, if you don’t mind.  I’ll update the outcome as soon as I can.  Be blessed!

